My supervisor likes receiving things. It makes her feel appreciated. I'm not really one for giving/receiving gifts. The first year I worked with her, on her birthday, I failed to give her anything. I mean, I barely knew her; I had only been working with her for a few months. She didn't speak to me for the entire day. This year, I gave her flowers on her birthday. She loves flowers. She was super nice to me that day.
Today is her last day. I didn't get her anything. This morning, I scrambled at the last minute to pool money with other coworkers to get her something. We all generally fail at life.
Have you heard of the five love languages? Alright. Well if you haven't, click here.
Obviously.
I just never valued it. I respect that people feel a sense of appreciation from it. But my pickle doesn't get tickled. When people give me gifts, I get all weird. Mostly because I'm not sure if "thank you" is enough. I just generally suck at giving gifts. They'll either be not sentimental enough (apparently) or too overpriced. What gives?
I like spending time with people. I like receiving text messages or emails from friends saying they're thinking of me. I like having dinner with people, I do enjoy one-on-one time, especially with people who I care about.
Once a boyfriend broke up with me because I didn't give him a gift. BUT HE TOLD ME HE DIDN'T WANT ANYTHING FOR HIS BIRTHDAY. WHATTAHAILS? Okay, I'm sure that we had problems that escalated to our eventual breakup, but that's what he told me--that I hadn't gotten him anything for his birthday. Lame.Labels: love language