My sister's getting married next weekend. And even though she's so swamped with last-minute wedding details, one of the things on her mind is whether or not I'll have a plus one. She's so sweet.
Sister: We're not going to have a bridal party table. It's just going to be me and R at a table together.
Me: OK.
Sister: Are you OK with that?
Me: Yeah. Why wouldn't I be?
Sister: Whew. That's a relief.
Me: How come?
Sister: I don't know. I didn't want you to feel weird if you didn't have a plus one.
Me: What? Why wouldn't I...Why!??! WHAT?!
Sister: I don't know. WILL YOU HAVE ONE?
Me: ...I don't know...Maybe?...No.
Sister: See??? I just don't want you to feel like that "forever alone" guy.
Me: I just...didn't think I'd need a plus one since I'm in the bridal party. I'm going to be too busy running around, and saying hi to everybody.
Sister: Okay, sure, but you're more than welcome to invite your girl-friends just in case you don't want to be that "forever alone" guy.
Bless her heart.
If anybody asks why I don't have a plus one, I will simply say that not having one makes it easier for me to hit on (and be hit on) by guys. Granted, I'll know most of the people in attendance, but geez--can't I live?!!?
Labels: don't attend family functions with guys who you have no interest in because your family will assume he is your new boyfriend, plus one, weddings